Security Deposit Limits by State

The Maximum Security Deposit a Landlord Can Charge in Each State

Collage of people's faces in shape of United States map

John Lund/Getty Images

The following is a list of security deposit limits by state. While every measure has been taken to provide accurate information, laws change frequently, so make sure to check with your state, county, and city to confirm the laws that may be applicable to you.


  • Alabama- One month’s rent. The landlord may be able to charge a higher security deposit to cover a pet deposit, changes to a property or increased liability risks.
  • Alaska- Two months’ rent. There is no limit if the monthly rent exceeds $2000.
    • See Also: Alaska Security Deposit Law
  • Arizona- One and a half month’s rent.
  • Arkansas- Two months’ rent.






  • Hawaii- One month’s rent.

  See Also: Hawaii Security Deposit Law


  • Idaho- No Limit.

  See Also: Idaho Security Deposit Law


   See Also: Iowa Security Deposit Law


  • Kansas- One month’s rent for unfurnished units. One and a half month’s rent for furnished units. Can charge an additional deposit for pets of up to one half month’s rent.
    • Louisiana- No Limit.
    • Maine- Two months’ rent.
    • Maryland- Two months’ rent.
    • Massachusetts- One month’s rent. May also collect last months’ rent in advance.
    • Michigan- One and a half month’s rent.
    • Minnesota- No Limit.
    • Mississippi- No Limit.
    • Missouri- Two months’ rent.
    • Montana- No Limit.
    • Nebraska- One month’s rent. Can charge an additional one quarter month’s rent for a pet deposit.
    • Nevada- Three months’ rent.
    • New Hampshire- One month’s rent or $100, whichever is greater. No limit for those who lease out single family residences or for owner-occupied properties with five or fewer units, unless one of those units is occupied by someone 60 years of age or older.
    • New Jersey- One and a half month’s rent. The landlord can raise the security deposit, but cannot increase it by more than 10 percent each year.
    • New Mexico- No limit for leases of one year or more, but it must be a “reasonable deposit.” For rental agreements less than one year, the landlord can ask for one month’s rent as a security deposit.
    • New York- No Limit. One month’s rent for rent stabilized units.
    • North Carolina- Two weeks rent for week to week rental agreements. One and a half month’s rent for month to month rental agreements. Two month’s rent if rental agreement is two months’ or longer. Can also charge a reasonable, nonrefundable pet deposit.
    • North Dakota- One month’s rent. Can charge a pet deposit, but total amount of deposit, including the security deposit, cannot exceed $1500.
    • Ohio- No Limit.
    • Oklahoma- No Limit.
    • Oregon- No Limit.
    • Pennsylvania- Two months’ rent for first year. One month’s rent for second year and subsequent years. After five years of tenancy, a landlord cannot increase the security deposit.
    • Rhode Island- One month’s rent.
    • South Carolina- No Limit.
    • South Dakota- One month’s rent. The landlord may be able to charge a higher security deposit if certain circumstances pose a “danger to the maintenance of the premises.”
    • Tennessee- No Limit.
    • Texas- No Limit.
    • Utah- No Limit.
    • Vermont- No Limit.
    • Virginia- Two months’ rent.
  • Kentucky-No Limit.