How to Delete Your eBay Account
If You're Sure You Want to End Your Relationship With eBay, Here's How
Closing your eBay account is a large and often unnecessary step. If you’re simply unsatisfied with something that has occurred on eBay, you may instead be satisfied by leaving feedback giving your opinion or by contacting eBay for help in resolving your concern or problem.
Closing Your eBay Account
Be aware that there may be terms or caveats associated with account closure, in keeping with the agreement into which you entered when you joined eBay and accepted eBay’s terms and conditions.
You should read about permanently closing your eBay account before you attempt to do so, to be sure that closing your account is what you really want. If you don't think you're going to use your account frequently, you can just let it go dormant, and it will still be there if you ever decide to use it again in the future.
Before closing your account, eBay says, be sure that:
- You owe no fees
- Your account balance is at zero
- You have no bids still in play
There are some circumstances under which eBay won't allow you to fully close your account. If your account is below eBay's minimum standards, you can't close it until it meets those standards.
For 60 days after closing the account, you can change your mind.
After 60 days, your account will be permanently closed and can't be reopened. You'll have to register a new eBay account with a different username and email address to buy or sell items.
Can I Keep My Account But Quit Selling?
Yes! In fact, many former sellers maintain an active presence on eBay but as a buyer only.
If you don't want to sell anymore, just deactivate your seller account. You can do this by removing your automatic payment method and selling tool subscriptions.
You will still be able to bid, buy items and otherwise participate, but you won't be able to sell.
What Happens Next?
Once you've confirmed to eBay that you want to close your account, there's a waiting period in order to allow any pending transactions to be completed. During this waiting period, you won't be able to bid, make purchases, list items or change any contact information in your account. You'll still be able to view your account information, however.
Once that waiting period is over, you won't be able to use your eBay username or the email address associated with your (now closed) account to access any parts of eBay requiring sign-in. Your feedback profile won't be visible or available to other eBay members.
Be advised that eBay does retain your personal information even after you close your account, as outlined in its privacy notice. It claims this is necessary to prevent fraud and for legal reasons.
What if I Change My Mind?
If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, you can contact eBay and ask them to cancel your request.
If you change your mind after the waiting period has expired, well, time's up. You can't reopen a closed account. But you can create a new account, with a different email address if you want to keep doing business on eBay.
There are some good reasons for wanting to close your eBay account. If you've been the victim of identity theft, or if you've been the target of harassment, it can definitely sour you to the experience of bidding, buying and selling.
But make sure you want to end it with eBay before you pull the plug. Once your account is closed, it's closed forever.